BIOS

AMANDA BEST - CHAIR  

 

Hi I am Amanda parent to a child with Autism/Epilepsy, Non -Verbal and Learning Difficulties. I am a qualified nursery nurse and work for the local authority on a supply basis I have undertaken various training courses over the years more so relating to SEND and disabilities. I have done lots of voluntary work,including helping on the PTFA at my son's special school (I am the new chair of this also) and enjoy meeting families,helping others and making new friends. I am an avid Hull FC fan and in my spare time like to follow them and enjoy gardening, reading, listening to music and socialising,spending time with my family. I also enjoy going on holiday to the Norfolk Broads. I hope to retire there one day.

 

 

SHELL SHILTON - VICE CHAIR/TREASURER

 

Hi I am Shell parent to a child with Potocki Lupski Syndrome. I am a qualified nursery nurse and work as an Out of School Club assistant at a local day nursery. I am also a Guide Leader and a qualified first aider. I enjoy listening to music, socialising, being creative, fascinated by outer space love learning about it and spending time with my family and friends.

 

SHERAN PENNINGTON-DUCK

 

Hi I am Sheran parent to a child with Autism, Non-Verbal,and Learning Difficulties. I am a qualified Foot Health Care Practitioner and run my own business doing this. In my spare time beside being a trustee for Unique Friends I enjoy socialising, spending time with my family, making my friends laugh, going to the cinema with my friend, shopping especially for clothes and shoes (I have a vast collection of shoes). I love meeting new people and helping others.

 

KATY BRISTOW- FUNDING OFFICER/SECRETARY

 

Hi I am Katy parent to 3 children one of whom is diagnosed with Autism, Learning Difficulties and Oppositional Demand Avoidance. I am a volunteer DOULA for the Goodwin Project based in Hull and at my child's school. I am the funding officer for Unique Friends and am responsible for applying for grants /funding. I love being involved with the group. In my spare time I enjoy visiting my family in Leeds, spending time with my husband and children. I also enjoy watching movies, socialising with my friends, going on holiday.

 

KAREN JACKSON- ADVISORY OFFICER

 

Hi I am Karen and a manager of a local nursery. I advise the group on Policies/Procedures,

Safeguarding and Current Legislation. I have worked in the public sector and liase with outside agencies on a regular basis. In my spare time I enjoy reading,spending time with my family, relaxing, going on holiday especially camping. I enjoy cooking and am a qualified chef. But sssh don't tell everyone!!!!

 

 

 

 

IMG_3680 23844566_10156040994818958_1433535460745951857_n 43879733_10156288251113725_6678124986466566144_n 29872060_10160151097195075_5593959947663915572_o